

2019-2020

President

Amy Gustincic

First Vice-PresidentMary Haberle

Second Vice-President

Lynne T. Jewell

Coordinating Secretary

Donna Kolb

Recording Secretary

Stewart Campbell

Treasurer

Donald Seligman*

Directors

Marta Alcumbrac

David Bell

Mica Campbell

Dennis Chew

Marian Dodge* Philip Gasteier

Ray Hoysepian

Alex Kondracke

Chris Laib*

Debra Matlock

Deanne Paul

David Roberti

Standolyn Robertson*

Joel Rochlin

Patricia Ruben

Debbie Simons

Mary Beth Sorensen

Karen Stetler Angela Stewart

7.11901a 0t011a

Gail Zaritsky

*Past President

April 27, 2020

VIA EMAIL mindy.nguyen@lacity.org

Mindy Nguyen

City of Los Angeles, Department of City Planning

221 North Figueroa Street, Suite 1350

Los Angeles, CA 90012

Re: Objection to 45-day Comment Period for Hollywood Center Project Draft Environmental Impact Report ("DEIR"); Case Number ENV-2018-2116-EIR;

State Clearinghouse Number 2018051002

Dear Ms. Nguyen:

LFIA, the advocacy group for all residents of Los Feliz, objects to the City providing only the minimum allowed comment period for the Hollywood Center Project Draft DEIR. LFIA has an interest in this project and would very much like to participate in the comment process, but will be challenged to do so on the constrained timeline.

In normal times, a 45-day comment period for a project as large as this would be difficult given the thousands of pages of technical documents just released, but as we are all also dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic it will be almost impossible.

The pandemic is also limiting members of the public and other governmental agencies from having adequate time and access to documents to be able to review and comment on the DEIR.

The DEIR comment period should start after the lifting of local and state stay-at-home orders and should last for at least 90 days.

It is incumbent upon the City, now more than ever, to ensure that the public and relevant governmental agencies are able to fairly participate in this process.

Sincerely,

Amy Gustincic President, LFIA

cc:

Mayor Eric Garcetti (mayor.garcetti@lacity.org)

Councilmember Mitch O'Farrell (councilmember.ofarrell@lacity.org)

Councilmember David Ryu (david.ryu@lacity.org)

Vince Bertoni, Director of City Planning (vince.bertoni@lacity.org)

Kevin Keller, Executive Officer, Department of City Planning (kevin.keller@lacity.org)